The Cal State Masters started in 1961 with the California State Bowling Association.  When the CSBA, CWBA (California Women’s Bowling Association) and the CSYABA (California State Young American Bowling Alliance) merged in 2006, we continued running this event until 2010. With the declining numbers in participation and the difficulty of modifying the format, the CUSBC ended the reign of this tournament. It is now 2022 and we are bringing this tournament back for the 2022-23 season. The format is modified to today’s environment and we are hoping to keep this event going.




2023 Bobby Campagnale Riverside Oak Tree Lanes
2010 Dave Wodka Chatsworth Golden Empire
2009 Scott Vanderlick Sacramento Stockton BA
2008 Jason Heggemeier Castaic Southern LA County
2007 Skip Pavone San Jose Oroville / Yuba Sutter
2006 Ron Case Oakley Golden Empire
2005 Robby Porter Rancho Cordova Sacramento
2004 Lee Patterson Fresno Citrus Belt
2003 Freddy Irvin Modesto Central Solano
2002 Jim Gordin Modesto Orange County
2001 John Gould Citrus Heights Contra Costa County
2000 Chip Pettiford Los Angeles Southern LA County
1999 Jeff Frankos Daly City Alameda County
1998 Ed Harnstrom Downey Bakersfield
1997 Ross Packard San Jose Central California
1996 David Billings Mission Viejo San Diego
1995 Ross Packard San Jose Modesto
1994 Marv Sargent La Mesa San Gabriel Valley
1993 Pat Stewart Citrus Heights Santa Clara Valley
1992 Mike Fowler La Habra N. Santa Barbara
1991 Bob Warning Romoland Diablo
1990 Mike Fowler La Habra Citrus Belt
1989 Eric Grant Richmond Stockton
1988 Mike Kuttich San Diego Ventura County
1987 Ross Packard San Jose Marin County
1986 David Cooper Aptos Bakersfield
1985 Wade Stanley Sacramento Sacramento
1984 Russell Fields San Jose Central California
1983 Craig Rourke Santa Clara Modesto
1982 Walter Ray Williams Chico Long Beach
1981 Brian LaMagana Anaheim Santa Clara Valley
1980 Phillip Davis Mt. View N. Santa Barbara
1979 Randy Oliver Sacramento Diablo
1978 Joe Stanton Anaheim Orange County
1977 Bob Fiegman Torrance Peninsula
1976 Alvin Lou El Cajon San Diego
1975 Cliff McNealy Castro Valley Stockton
1974 Farrell Hinkle Irvine Ventura County
1973 Marion Bonta Los Angeles Alameda County
1972 Hector Valenzuela San Jose Bakersfield
1971 Bob Ramirez Anaheim Sacramento
1970 Gary Madison San Bernardino San Diego
1969 Bob Ramirez Anaheim Central California
1968 Bill Tuttle San Jose Orange County
1967 Roy Dunn Riverside Modesto
1966 Jay Robinson Santa Susana Citrus Belt
1965 Ted Hendrickson San Francisco San Francisco
1964 Rick Lipp La Crescenta Bakersfield
1963 Sheldon Hippo Van Nuys Stockton
1962 Ray Seddon Glendale Santa Barbara
1961 Ron Winger Van Nuys Central California
  CSBA hosting from 1961-2005

Growing the sport of bowling for youth and adults in CA!