2010 Open Championships

May 8-July 25, 2010

Team Center:

Doubles & Singles Center:

$182,038.50 Total Prize Fund

827 Teams       1,651 Doubles Teams        3,302 Singles

Handicap Results (pdf)
Scratch Results (pdf)
Masters Standings (pdf)

First 300 of the Tournament 
(D/S Event: Regency Lanes on 6/19/10)
Congratulations to MANNY CASTILLO, JR from Salinas, CA

Use your Doubles/Singles scratch scores for
qualifying to the State Masters Finals
(32 seeded berths direct to the finals!)

$30,000 Guaranteed
Prize Fund from CUSBC
1st: $3,000*; 2nd: $2,000; 3rd: $1,500; Payout 64 places

Last Chance Squad & Finals:
Sept. 10-12 – AMF Southwest Lanes

Golden Empire USBC is conducting Roto Grip “Dark Star” Bowling Ball Raffles at the 2010 CUSBC Open Championship Tournament.

May 22 – Clinton Meche from Los Angeles, won a brand new RotoGrip “Dark Star” ball while at Regency Bowling Center bowling in his Doubles & Singles event.  Presenting him with his new ball is Golden Empire USBC President, D.C. Williams.

Jim Bell, San Leandro receiving his ball from GEUSBC Assoc.
Manager Nancy Weber on Saturday, June 5, 2010.

Fran Stern, Buena Park receiving her ball from GEUSBC VP Bette
Addington also on Saturday, June 5, 2010.

May 11, 2010
By: Bette Addington & Mike Hefley

The first weekend of bowlers from all around the state coming to Bakersfield to compete in the 5th annual 2010 CUSBC (Californian United States Bowling Congress) Open Championships took place this past weekend with squads of bowlers at both AMF Southwest Lanes and Regency Bowling Center.

Opening Ceremonies kicked off the event and took place at noon on Saturday, May 8, at AMF Southwest Lanes. On hand were Mayor Harvey Hall along with Don Cohen, Director of the Bakersfield Convention and Visitor’s Bureau. Representing CUSBC was President Al Hoffmann and Association Manager Larry Peppers along with Tournament Director Ferenc Schulz. AMF Southwest Lanes was represented by Manager Darlene Sharp, and Regency was represented by Manager Mike Morris. Representing our GEUSBC (Golden Empire United States Bowling Congress) was President DC Williams. Bakersfield High’s ROTC was the color guard and led the ceremony into the presentation of our National Anthem. Then, bowling participant, Wayne Tanaka, of Ridgecrest, was selected as “Joe Bowler” and threw out the first ball to start the tournament.

This tournament will run for the next nine weekends (skipping Convention weekend Jun.12-13) through July 24-25. Team event is at AMF Southwest Lanes and Doubles & Singles is at Regency Bowling Center. Admission is free for spectators and although entries are closed, local bowlers who are not entered can still sign up at either center to be a sub as subs will be needed throughout the tournament. Squad times at both centers are: Team/AMF Southwest Lanes on Saturdays at 12:30 & 3:45; Sundays at 9 & 12:30. Doubles & Singles/Regency Bowling Center on Saturdays and Sundays at 9:30, 12:30 and 4.

Bakersfield High School ROTC served as the color guard. CUSBC Assoc. Manager Larry Peppers
along with AMF Southwest Manager Darlene Sharp welcomed the first squad of bowlers.

Joe Bowler is crowned! Wayne Tanaka, of Ridgecrest
received the honors and is shown here flanked by
CUSBC President Al Hoffmann (left) and
Tournament Director Ferenc Schulz (right)
GEUSBC Director Becky Hardwick (l) worked Check-In while her daughter, Courtney, worked as a Scorekeeper. On Mother’s Day, the Golden Empire USBC gave all women bowlers who were Mom’s a rose to commemorate the day.
(Kelly Peters of Stockton receives her rose from GEUSBC Director Jim LeDoux.)


25+ Years of Participation

50 Years
Wayne Craig
Adolphus “Doc” Thomas45 Years
Lynn Bridgman
R. Wayne Helms

40 Years
Otis Bryant
Travis Hicks
Aaron Reed
William Wright

35 Years
Rudy Abila
Kenneth Davis
Glenn Gillian
Forrest “Rod” Johns
Charles Morrissey III
James O’Connor
Larry Ollson
Manuel Roman
Ronald Weist

33 Years
Lou Mathews
Rory Murphy

32 Years
Orville Koenning

31 Years
Tommy Brantley
John Lee
Matt Monson
David Soto Sr.

30 Years
Jerry Burnett
Joe Dahilig
Jesse Dotson Jr.
Johnnie Englehart
Richard Ferreira
Jim Gordin
Eric Grant
Tracy Hancock
Hal Jones
Bill Knoblauch
Geoff Lewis
Craig Major
Carl Maulucci
Gordon Moore
Paul Navarro29 Years
Les Mahru

28 Years
Herman Long
Edward Schwab

27 Years
David Hoffmann
Robert Swift Sr.
Jack Tosono
William Wagner

25 Years
John Catone
David Yarbrough
Johnny Dunning
Earl Yarbrough
Richard Leong
David Lindsay
Larry Luce
Terry Nafus
Patrick Pendleton
Sumner Ronnie
Maurice Salmon
Dale Saylor
Robert Tyson
Jack Waters